Mōri Narihiro (1784-1836), ruler of Hagi Province, started building a five-storied pagoda in 1822 but for various reasons had to halt the construction. The brackets and blocks that had been made to support the eaves of the pagoda’s first story were left as they were and incorporated under the floor of this building. Thus,the architectuer of the base is very unusnal . People say that the view of the city and of the Seto Inland Sea from this building is so beautiful and refreshing that visitors can feel the spring breeze an throughout the year. Thus it is called Shunpūro, “hall of the spring breeze.”
Location 14-1 Matsuzakicho, Hofu Transportation access
- 5 min by car from JR Hofu Sta.
- 10 min from the Sanyo Expwy Hofu-Higashi IC from Hiroshima or Hofu-Nishi IC from Kyushu
Contact information Hofu Tenmangu Shrine
14-1Matsuzaki-cho,Hofu City, Hofu